Mrs. Alena Cilíková - The one who started it all

Mrs. Alena Cilíková has been my form teacher for more than four years and I have to say that our class couldn´t ask for  a better  teacher. She´s always been very kind, supporting and optimistic. What´s more, she actually came up with an idea of the English school magazine that you are reading right now. After all these years I know her quite well, so I tried to prepare questions, that would reveal interesting facts about her. Not just for you, but also for me.

Hello. How are you?
Hi, I´m quite fine, thank you.

What was your motivation to start running an English magazine at our school?
Well, as I wrote in the first issue of our magazine last year, the first impulse for starting an English, school magazine was in the starting of a bilingual section at our school. Life of bilingual students is a bit different from that of non-bilingual ones, especially in the first grade. I wanted to share all mine and my students´ experiences with both our students and my colleagues. Moreover, we have many creative students that are very good at English and this is a very good way in which they can improve their potential.

Do you prefer teaching English or Biology?
As an original biologist loving English, I prefer teaching Biology in English. After four years of teaching I have improved my skills in academic English. Compared to teaching only English, teaching a specialized subject in English is much more difficult and the preparation is very time-consuming. However, I must admit that I miss teaching English lessons.

What´s your favorite food?
It is hard to say. I love eating and I have never been on a diet. I am a meat-eater, nevertheless, I love vegetables. What I can say for sure is that I absolutely dislike white meals – no milk soups or sauces or cream.

Do you like reading books? Do you have any favorites?
I love reading books, both in Slovak and in English. During the last Christmas holidays I read six books. I do not have a favorite author but I like books published by Evita Press. And my never ending supplier of English books is Matt (Thank you, Matt).

What about movies? Do you have a favorite?
I do not have much time for watching films or going to the cinema. I use TV as background noise when correcting tests or preparing for school. But if I had to choose I would prefer films with Meryl Streep, especially Out of Africa.

What are your favorite free time activities?
Most of my free time is spent preparing for school, as this is the first year when I have prepared graduates from Biology. However, if I didn´t like it, I wouldn´t do it. At weekends and during holidays I devote my free time to my family. I love playing with my daughter, going skiing or skating with all my family… And on winter evenings I like sitting by the fireplace with a good book.

Do you have a life motto?
I have read many inspiring mottos but the following is my favourite one:

´Life isn´t about waiting for the storm to pass. It´s about learning to dance in the rain.´


by Ľuboš Rybnikár

Year 2, Issue 2