Ed Sheeran

Edward Christopher "Ed" Sheeran is a singer, songwriter and musician. He also plays the quitar. He plays many genres of music; Pop, R&B, folk, hip hop and acoustic.

He was born February 17th 1991 in Hebden Bridge near Halifax West Yorkshire but moved to Framlingham Suffolk when he was a child. His father, John Sheeran, is an art curator and lecturer. His mother, Imogen Lock, is a cultural publicist-turned-jewelry designer. His parents ran the independent art consultancy from 1990 to 2010. He has an older brother, Matthew, who is a classical composer. He was raised as a Roman Catholic, and sang in a local church choir from the age of four. He learned to play guitar at a young age, and began writing songs in high school. When he was younger he used to listen to a variety of music. The Beatles, Van Morrison, Bob Dylan, Nizlopi and Eminem became his biggest musical influences. He was accepted to the National Youth Theatre in London as a teenager.


He began recording music in 2005, and released his first independent EP, The Orange Room EP. He moved to London in 2008, and began playing in small venues. In February 2010, Sheeran posted a video online and the rapper Example invited him to tour with him. In April 2010, Sheeran bought a ticket to Los Angeles, with no prior contacts. He played at open mic nights throughout the city, and was spotted at The Foxxhole by Jamie Foxx. Foxx, was so impressed that he offered Sheeran the use of his recording studio and a bed in his Hollywood home for the rest of his stay. Throughout 2010, Ed began being noticed by more and more people on the internet via YouTube. After releasing "The A Team" as a digital download, it entered the UK Singles Chart at number three and also became a top ten hit in Australia, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Norway and the Netherlands. Sheeran co-wrote the song “Moments“ with the boy band One Direction and contributed to two other songs. 

Taylor Swift contacted Sheeran after hearing his music while touring Australia in March 2012. He later co-wrote and provided vocals for "Everything Has Changed", a single featured on Swift's fourth album Red. Sheeran got a Red tattoo to mark the career opportunity and remarked, "I think Taylor's just opening up a lot of doors and it's up to me to make sure that I get through to them. It's a massive opportunity for me and I want to make sure to grab it with both hands." Ed released his first single in two years, "I See Fire", which is featured in the end credits of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug as well as on the film's soundtrack. In December 2013, Sheeran was nominated for Best New Artist at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards.

 

His second studio album x (read as "multiply") was released in 2014. It peaked at number one in both the UK Albums Chart. On the 8th of October 2014, Sheeran released the music video to the album's third single, "Thinking Out Loud", where he dances with his leading lady. The video achieved almost three million views within 24 hours from its release. The song became his second single to reach number one on the UK Singles Chart. In November 2014, Sheeran announced that he will play at London's Wembley Stadium on July 10th 2015 as part of his x world tour, it is his biggest solo headlining. He had to add additional dates to his tour because tickets quickly sold out. The album also earned Sheeran the distinction of being iTunes' biggest-selling artist in the United Kingdom, Ireland and New Zealand for the same year.

Awards


He won two Brit Awards for Best British Male Solo Artist and British Breakthrough Act; in 2015, “x“ won the Brit Award for British Album of the Year; "The A Team" won the Ivor Novello Award for Best Song Musically and Lyrically and was nominated for Album of the Year at the 57th Annual Grammy Awards.

Songs


2011/The A Team; Nina (probably about his ex-girlfriend Nina Nesbitt); You Need Me, I Don’t Need You; Lego House;/
2012/Drunk; Give Me Love;/
2013/I See Fire (The Hobbit)/
2014/Sing; Don’t;Thinking Out Loud; Afire Love/
2015/Bloodstream; Photograph/

Lyrics (Reached almost 500 million views)


When your legs don't work like they used to before
And I can't sweep you off of your feet
Will your mouth still remember the taste of my love?
Will your eyes still smile from your cheeks?

And, darling, I will be loving you 'til we're seventy
And, baby, my heart could still fall as hard at twenty-three
And I'm thinking 'bout how
People fall in love in mysterious ways
Maybe just the touch of a hand
Well me - I fall in love with you every single day
And I just wanna tell you I am

So honey now
Take me into your lovin' arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
I'm thinking out loud
Maybe we found love right where we are

When my hair's all but gone
And my memory fades
And the crowds don't remember my name
When my hands don't play the strings the same way
I know you will still love me the same

'Cause honey your soul, could never grow old
It's evergreen
And baby your smile's
Forever in my mind and memory

I'm thinking about how
People fall in love in mysterious ways
And maybe it's all part of a plan
I'll just keep on making the same mistakes
Hoping that you'll understand

But, baby, now
Take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Place your head on my beating heart
I'm thinking out loud
Maybe we found love right where we are
Oh

So, baby, now
Take me into your loving arms
Kiss me under the light of a thousand stars
Oh darlin'
Place your head on my beating heart
I'm thinking out loud
Maybe we found love right where we are
Oh maybe we found love right where we are
And we found love right where we are


by Nina Nôžková

Year 1, Issue 3